What are the chakras?

Bambú Clinic chakras


Have you ever wondered why certain parts of your body call for attention more than others, either through symptoms or increased sensation? Perhaps you have experienced a craving for a certain color or found a connection between an emotion and a particular area of your body.

All of these examples may indicate an imbalance in one or more of the body’s chakras, or energy centers. In this health letter, we will try to illuminate the topic of chakras and chakra therapy for you.

What are the chakras?

Simply put, a chakra is an energy center of the body. Seven of them lie along the vertical axis of the body, extending from the root of the pelvis to the crown of the head. Each chakra acts like a vortex, the swirling shape water makes in a drain, to channel and regulate energy flow. Using the chakra system, we can get a glimpse into a person’s unique inner workings as the energy emanating from each chakra can be stimulated or muted depending on how we think, how we make decisions and how we choose to respond to life’s conditions.

As you will see in the next section, each chakra corresponds to specific emotions, mind/body struggles, and areas of personal growth and development.

In addition, the chakras interact with the nervous and endocrine systems of the body. Each of the seven chakras is connected to one of the seven endocrine glands and with a bundle of nervous tissue called a plexus. Thus, each chakra can influence functions within the body controlled by its associated plexus and endocrine gland. Therefore, by means of chakra involvement, changes in our consciousness can lead to physical sensations and symptoms in the body.

The Seven Chakras, simplified

The first chakra is located in the perineum of our pelvic bowl, at the “root,” and includes our legs and feet. The root is our home, our claim to our place in the world. This chakra deals with groundedness, security and safety. All other aspects of our energetic body rest upon this foundation. So, if it is shaky, you can expect trouble. Color: red/brown

The second chakra is located a bit higher in the pelvis, and incorporates our reproductive glands, kidneys, and hips. From this space comes our creative force as well as our ability to engage in healthy pleasure. Like the ocean, our second chakra flows with rhythms and tides. Color: orange

The third chakra is in the area of the solar plexus, and incorporates our liver, gallbladder, pancreas, intestines, and stomach. Our gut processes the outside world (food), and, therefore, hears our truth and feels our desires. Within this chakra lies the power to assert our individual desires. Color: Yellow

The fourth chakra is the heart, and includes the lungs, arms, and hands. We breathe in (lung) and circulate (heart) the energies of the earth and our environment through the fourth chakra. The predominant healthy experience of this chakra is love for ourselves, other people and the world. Color: green

The fifth chakra is at the throat, which also encompasses the mouth, jaw, ears, and shoulders. This is our communication chakra, where we use sound to transmit our beliefs and truths to the outer world. It is also the level through which wisdom and beauty are transmitted. Color: blue

The sixth chakra is the third eye, in the center of the forehead and includes the major endocrine glands within the brain. This is our center for communication with our higher source, as well as the seat of the highest of human powers, interpretation and perception. Our physical sight, as well as our intuition, is located here. Color: indigo

The seventh chakra is located at the crown of the head and above, and includes our brain. The crown is our organizing body, responsible for structuring our thoughts and belief systems, while also connecting us to our faith in something greater. This chakra constantly reorganizes and shifts to incorporate new ideas and experiences. Color: violet

Chakra Breathing

At Bambú Clinic, we recommend conscious breathing as a part of our patients’ daily health routines. Here, we will introduce a breathing exercise which you can use to get “in touch” with your chakras. When you use this tool, just remember that there are no right answers. Whatever you sense should be observed and noted without judgment. As you repeat this exercise, you may develop a different kind of awareness of your body and its unique flow of energy. Practice makes improvement, right?

Warm Regards,

We hope you found this information helpful. We strive to help our patients find a healthy way in the world. If you have topics you’d like us to address in future issues please let us know. We are always available for questions and comments.

The Physicians of Bambú Clinic